Samut Sakhon was formerly called Tha Chin probably because,
in the old days, it had been a trading port dealing with a vast number of
Chinese junks. In 1548, a town named Sakhon Buri was established at the mouth of
the Tha Chin River. It was a centre for recruiting troops from various seaside
towns. The name of the town was changed into "Mahachai" when Khlong (canal)
Mahachai was dug in 1704 to join the Tha Chin River at the town. Later, the town
was renamed Samut Sakhon by King Rama IV but it is still popularly called "Mahachai"
by the villagers.
Samut Sakhon is located 30 kms. from Bangkok. The province occupies a total
area of 872 square kilometres and is administratively divided into 3 districts:
Muang Samut Sakhon, Krathum Baen, and Ban Phaeo. It is a major fishing port and
also the biggest producer of brine salt.
travel information for samutsakhon
a) From Bangkok, take Highway No. 35 (Thon
Buri-Pak Tho) to Samut Sakhon via Bang Khunthian District Office and Mahachai
b) From Bangkok, take Highway No. 3 (Phetkasem
Road) to Bang Khae, then turn into the outer ring road before proceeding along
Ekkachai Road to Samut Sakhon.
Regular buses leave Bangkok's Southern Bus Terminal daily between 4.30 a.m.
and 9.30 p.m. Call 0 2435 1199-200 for more information.
Visitors can take a regular train which departs from Wongwian Yai Railway
Station to Mahachai Railway Station daily, and then connect a ferry from
Mahachai to Samut Sakhon Town. Call 0 2465 2017 for more information.
Restaurant in samutsakhon